HPWREN Team, Participants, and Collaborators

HPWREN is funded by the National Science Foundation Office of Cyberinfrastructure (OCI)


  • UCSD San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC)
    • Hans-Werner Braun, Principal Investigator
    • Kim Bruch, Outreach
    • James Hale, Technician and programmer
    • Tara Javidi, UCSD Electrical and Computer Engineering Department Professor
    • Daeseob Lim, UCSD Graduate Student
    • Ron Serabia, First Responder Coordinator
    • Tajana Simunic Rosing, UCSD Computer Science Department Professor
  • UCSD Scripps Institution of Oceanography (SIO) Institute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics (IGPP)
    • Todd Hansen, ROADNet Systems Coordinator
    • Frank Vernon, Co-Principal Investigator
  • San Diego State University
    • Pablo Bryant, San Diego State University Field Station Programs
    • Deborah Curless, San Diego State University (SDSU) Graduate Student
    • Marie Roch, SDSU Computer Science Department Professor
 HPWREN Participants and Collaborators

Networking Research and Application:

  • Fran Berman, SDSC
  • Lyle Carlson, SDSC
  • Daniel Cunningham, SPAWAR Systems Center, San Diego
  • Jim Davidson, volunteer
  • Gaurav Dhiman, UCSD PhD Graduate Student in CSE
  • Jay Dombrowski, SDSC
  • Bud Hale, SIO Shipboard Technical Services
  • Todd Hansen, University of California San Diego (UCSD) Graduate Student
  • Don McLaughlin, UCSD Administrative Computing and Telecommunications
  • Shyam Kumar Madhusudhana, SDSU Computer Science Student
  • Edoardo Regini, UCSD visiting scholar in CSE Department

Disciplinary Science Applications:

  • Douglas Alden, UCSD, SIO Integrative Oceanography Division
  • Greg Aldering, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, SNfactory
  • Sonia Arteaga, SDSU student
  • Charles Baltay, Yale University, Palomar Observatory
  • Elizabeth Baker, University of San Diego, undergraduate student
  • Ray Bamberry, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Douglas Bartlett, SIO Marine Biology Research Division
  • James, Batti, UCSD, Kings Stormwater Bridge
  • Yehuda Bock, UCSD, SIO IGPP
  • Monika Braun, volunteer
  • David Carter, NASA Satellite Laser Ranging Program
  • Dan Cayan, UCSD, SIO: Hydroclimate Observation Program
  • David Chavez, UCSD, SIO IGPP
  • Yufu Cheng, California State University Los Angeles, Sky Oaks Field Station
  • Frank Chimenti, UCSD, Pinyon Flats Observatory
  • Tom Cook, UCSD, SIO Marine Physical Laboratory
  • Clint Coon, UCSD, Pinyon Flats Observatory
  • Stephen Dockter, UCSD, Pinyon Flats Observatory
  • Howard Donovan, Honeywell, NASA Satellite Laser Ranging (SLR) Program
  • Mike Doyle, CalTech, Palomar Observatory
  • Jennifer Eakins, UCSD, SIO IGPP
  • Paul Etzel, SDSU Astronomy Department, Mount Laguna Observatory
  • Mark Fisher, UCR, Boyd Deep Canyon Desert Research Center
  • Steve Foley, UCSD ROADNet
  • Stuart Gage, Michigan State University
  • John Gamon, California State University Los Angeles, Sky Oaks Field Station
  • Jay Grover, SDSU, Mount Laguna Observatory
  • Mike Hastings, UNAVCO
  • Lisa Hazard, UCSD, SIO Marine Physical Laboratory www.sdcoos.org - www.sccoos.org
  • John Henning, CalTech, Palomar Observatory
  • John Hildebrand, UCSD, SIO Marine Physical Laboratory
  • Donghwan Jeon. UCSD Graduate Student
  • Vistasp Karbhari, UCSD Structural Engineering Department
  • Scott Kardel, Caltech, Palomar Observatory
  • Ken Kenzel, UCSD, Kings Stormwater Bridge
  • Miguel Miller, NOAA, NWS San Diego
  • Rochelle Lauer, Yale University
  • Hongyan Luo, SDSU Sky Oaks Field Station
  • Al Muth, UCR, Boyd Deep Canyon Desert Research Center
  • Walter Oechel, SDSU Global Climate Change Group, Sky Oaks Field Station
  • Glen Offield, UCSD, SIO IGPP
  • John Orcutt, UCSD, SIO IGPP
  • Andrew Pickles, Caltech, Palomar Observatory
  • Jared Ribble, Crownpoint Institute of Technology, Navajo res, New Mexico
  • Frieder Seible, UCSD, Jacobs School of Engineering
  • Steve Smith, UNAVCO, Plate Boundary Observatory
  • Jamison Steidl, UC Santa Barbara, Institute for Crustal Studies
  • Eric Terrill, UCSD, SIO Marine Physical Laboratory www.sdcoos.org - www.sccoos.org
  • Bob Thicksten, Caltech, Palomar Observatory
  • Kenneth Tribble, Honeywell, NASA Satellite Laser Ranging (SLR) Program
  • Lelli Van Den Einde, UCSD, Structural Engineering Department
  • Mark VanScoy, San Diego State University Field Station Programs
  • Kris Walker, UCSD, Pinyon Flats Observatory
  • Chris Walls, UNAVCO, Plate Boundary Observatory
  • Ben Weaver, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Palomar Observatory
  • Scott Wetzel, Honeywell, NASA Satellite Laser Ranging (SLR) Program
  • Frank Wyatt, UCSD, SIO IGPP
  • Daniel Zieber, CalTech, Palomar Observatory
  • Rommel Zulueta, SDSU Sky Arrow Research Airplane
  • Mark Zumberge, UCSD, Pinyon Flats Observatory

Education Applications:

  • Melinda Booth, California Wolf Center
  • Kim Miller, California Wolf Center
  • Dan Moriarty, USD, California Wolf Center
  • Doretta Musick, Learning Center Director, Pala Band of Mission Indians
  • Mike Peralta, Tribal Digital Village Network (TDVNet)
  • Robert Smith, Tribal Chairman, Pala Band of Mission Indians
  • Kris Stewart, SDSU Education Center on Computational Science and Engineering
  • Patrick C. Valentino, California Wolf Center

First Responder and Public Safety Applications:

  • California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection
  • San Diego County Sheriff's Department
  • San Diego County Deptartment of Public Works

Being interdisciplinary and multi-institutional in nature, this project includes participants from various institutions (e.g., UCSD, SDSU, UCSB, Caltech, Yale) and disciplines (e.g., astronomy, biology, earth sciences, structural engineering), and with ties to large NSF-supported activities such as NEES and NEON. A directly educational component is predominantly with Indian reservations (TDVnet) and the California Wolf Center. In addition, participation exists with various agencies, predominantly the California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection (CDF, state firefighters), and the San Diego Sheriff's Department, with an emphasis on incident/crisis management and public safety applications that might benefit from high performance wireless date networking. Both CDF and the Sheriff's Department allow HPWREN to utilize some of their facilities, and hence contribute resources. In addition, HPWREN rents space on a microwave tower from a private company. Collaborations with the US Navy (SPAWAR) allows for a high-speed connection to San Clemente Island to support network research and sensors.

 back to top

field research
network analysis
 ~ university of california, san diego ~ © 2000 ~